DUI Fort Lauderdale Attorney
Operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol, known in most areas as driving under the influence (or DUI), is one of the most common crimes committed in the United States. Unlike other criminal acts, those accused of DUI come from a wide range of lifestyles and backgrounds, from laborers and clerks to students and white-collar professionals no vocation appears to be immune. Despite the background of the accused, the consequences of a DUI conviction can be devastating. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI in Broward County, including the cities of Coral Springs, Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood and Pembroke Pines, representation by Broward DUI attorneys can make a difference between conviction and acquittal. It is important to note that under the rules of the Florida Bar Association, no lawyer can guarantee a specific result in a criminal case. The DUI Fort Lauderdale Attorney who will represent you is completely your choice, and should not be based solely on an advertisement.
DUI Statistics (1)
In 2009, more than 53,000 people were arrested for DUI in Florida
In Broward County, there were 4,221 DUI arrests in 2009. The offices reporting the highest incidents:
Broward County Sheriffs Department 434
Florida Highway Patrol (Fort Lauderdale) 249
Pembroke Pines Police Department 266
Pompano Beach Police Department – 238
Hollywood Police Department 196
Coral Springs DUI Attorneys, Broward DUI Lawyers, Pembroke DUI Attorneys Many arrested for DUI are facing their first criminal charge. If you or a loved one has been arrested for DUI in Broward County, you may not fully understand your dilemma. For starters, Florida law requires the immediate suspension of driving privileges (6-18 months) of anyone charged with a DUI, whether you submitted to the Intoxilyzer breath alcohol test or refused to do so. Suspended driving privileges can create an immediate challenge for the accused and his or her family, but you may be eligible for an immediate temporary driving permit. You or your lawyer must apply for an administrative hearing within 10 days of the arrest. Your permit will be good for several weeks while your lawyer addresses the validity of the drivers license suspension at the Hearing. If you win the hearing, you get your license back. If you lose the hearing, under certain circumstances, you may be eligible for a hardship license after 30 days, or 90 days if you had refused to blow into the machine.
If convicted of a first offense, the penalties go beyond a night in jail, a stiff fine and DUI school. Depending on the charges and courts discretion, driving privileges are revoked from 180 days to one year. If there are previous DUI convictions or if property damage or personal injury (up to and including vehicular manslaughter or vehicular homicide) resulted from the drivers impairment, the penalties could include anywhere from a number of days in the county jail to many years in prison, as well as revocation of your drivers license for a period of years up to a lifetime revocation. A first-time DUI charge is a misdemeanor in Florida, but a conviction still leaves a permanent mark on your driving record. This can affect insurance rates and employment prospects, if the accused drives for a living. If you or a loved one is facing DUI charges in Broward County, DUI lawyers are available 24/7 to assist you.
Hassett & Associates, P.A. represents DUI arrest clients in Broward County and its major cities and areas, including Coral Springs, Fort Lauderdale, Hollywood and Pembroke Pines.
1. Florida Department of law Enforcement 2009 Arrest Data