Under new rules set to go into place July 1, a lawyer might only receive $5.99 an hour–well under Florida’s $7.67-an-hour minimum wage. This change in the rule of how court-appointed criminal defense lawyers are paid was passed by lawmakers in March. This new law was designed to curb growing legal fees paid by the state, but the bill has sparked much discussion among attorneys who believe the poor are guaranteed the right to effective legal representation will suffer because few quality lawyers will take their cases. The new rule does not apply to death penalty or racketeering cases but will create a “limited registry” of lawyers willing to work for that little pay. The Florida Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers and it’s Miami Chapter are going to challenge the new rule in court. For more information go to http://www.miamiherald.com/2012/06/23/2863493/new-fee-rules-rile-south-florida.html#storylink=cpy.