Fort Lauderdale DUI Attorney
The Florida Highway Patrol has reported that one woman is facing several serious charges while another was hospitalized with severe injuries after a carjacking, a kidnapping and two wrecks. An apparently intoxicated 31-year-old woman lost control of her Lexus and drove it off of the road on northbound Interstate 95. A Silverado pickup with a husband, wife, a 63-year-old mother-in-law, 11-month-old baby and two dogs stopped to help. When the husband and wife got out of the Silverado, the driver of the Lexus got into it and drove off in it with the mother-in-law, baby and dogs inside.
The husband and wife took pursuit of their Silverado in the other driver’s Lexus. The Silverado was broadsided at an intersection, but the driver continued in it until it got into a head-on crash with an SUV. The driver of the SUV was critically injured. That’s where the person who drove off in the Silverado was taken into custody by police. Numerous charges have been filed against her. They include at least one charge of DUI.
As per Fort Lauderdale criminal defense attorney Kenneth Hassett, police, prosecutors and judges take DUI charges seriously in Florida. Many first offenders think that an attorney isn’t really needed. Nothing could be farther from the truth. A conviction for even a first DUI offense is punishable by up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, 50 hours of community service and the loss of your driver’s license for up to 18 months. It’s also highly likely that you’ll be required to be evaluated for alcohol and drug use, follow all recommendations of the evaluation and successfully complete a remedial alcohol and drug educational program. Penalties are enhanced for a blood alcohol concentration of .15 or over or an accident with injuries. An offender can also expect to see their auto insurance premiums rise drastically for at least 30 months. A DUI conviction is going to stay on your driving record too. They can’t be expunged.
Hiring a Fort Lauderdale DUI Attorney
Let an experienced and effective Fort Lauderdale DUI attorney represent you in your DUI case from the onset. You only have 10 days from the date of your arrest to contest your license suspension. If you or somebody close to you has been charged with a DUI in or around Fort Lauderdale, call 954-791-3939 right away to speak with Hasset & Associates, P.A. He doesn’t want to see a DUI conviction on your record either.