Reckless Driving and Driving to Endanger
South Florida has been rated as having the most inconsiderate drivers in the country. Miami Dade Police and Fort Lauderdale Police make many arrests based on reckless driving incidents of Florida motorists. Reckless driving is an offense that warrants possible jail time up to 6 months and a fine up to $1,000. To prove the criminal offense of Reckless Driving, the State Attorney must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the criminal suspect drove a vehicle in Florida, and that he or she did so with a willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property. “Willful” means intentionally, knowingly, and purposely. “Wanton” means with a conscious and intentional indifference to consequences and with knowledge that damage is likely to be done to persons or property. A “vehicle” is any device in, upon, or by which any person or property is, or may be, transported or drawn upon a highway, except bicycles or “mopeds” or devices used exclusively upon stationary rails or tracks.
If you have been arrested or criminally charged with Reckless Driving, it would be advantageous to call a criminal defense attorney to discuss your rights as the defendant in a criminal law case. Criminal Defense Attorney Kenneth P. Hassett of Hassett and Associates, P.A. is an experienced Miami Reckless Driving Attorney who has been practicing since 1991 in Miami Dade County, Fort Lauderdale, and Broward County. Criminal defense lawyers can represent you against the criminal charges of the State Attorney. Kenneth P. Hassett is a criminal lawyer who will fight to represent you to the fullest extent in battling the criminal charges that face you. Contact Hassett and Associates, P.A. 24 hours per day seven days per week for an immediate free consultation with a Miami Dade or Broward County criminal defense attorney.
The information on this page does not represent legal advice. Florida Statues obtained from Online Sunshine, www.leg.state.fl.us, the official site of the Florida Legislature. Because the law is continually changing, some of the provisions contained herein may be out of date. It is always wise to seek counsel from an experienced criminal attorney like Kenneth Hassett.
If you have been charged as an Accessory After the Fact or a Principal in the First Degree to a criminal offense in Broward or Miami-Dade County, call Criminal Defense Attorney Kenneth P. Hassett.